I don't understand how or when we got to the point where interning is now totally normal and not considered slave labour because it's kind of uncool that I appear to be doing as much work as my boss and I am not getting paid for it. I don't want to bitch too much about him because I could probably be arrested for all the horrible things I would say about him, and also this is the internet and no mean blog post can be totally without consequences.
Anyway, why is this normal?! Why is it not really weird that intelligent, qualified young people are working for free? I am lucky enough to be in a position where my parents can support me, and I can live with my auntie while I'm working, but what if you're not? What happens to your career options then? Also, do proper real-life grown-ups with paid jobs know how shit it feels to be doing a shit job to have something to put on your CV and not be getting paid for it at all? I'm pretty confident in my own abilities as a fully functioning human being but it's been much worse for my self esteem than I could have imagined, which is probably just proof that I am deeply shallow and value making money, but making money is kind of a big deal because YOU NEED IT TO LIVE. I want to be a valuable member of society! One day I want to pay my taxes and smile at people on my way to work on the bus because I am too right-on to drive but this is simply teaching me that people do not value other people no matter how good a job they are trying to do. ihatemyboss.
Here are some other white girl problems, summed up by this photograph:
1. My hair is constantly frizzy so I can't have a fringe ever so I always look like shit.
2. I need my eyebrows done SO BAD.
3. I haven't been to the beach yet so I don't have a tan and I stand out like a sore thumb as a tourist everywhere I go.
4. No one can understand my accent at work. My boss has to translate for me.
5. I have no friends here. (This is represented by me being by myself in this picture.)
6. I am sitting on the porch because I CAN'T GO ANYWHERE.
7. Being gay is highly stigmatised in Trinidad and sodomy is illegal. This is not represented in the photo but is still very sad.

No comments:
Post a Comment